RSS Feed

Flexible only applies to me in yoga.

Posted on

At Camp Mighty, Maggie told the story of her Life List item to see the sun rise over the Aegean. Once there in Greece, fearlessly about to reach success, she realized that the sun only SET over the Aegean. Her attitude could have been Shitty McGrumpypants, but she chose instead to go with it. It may not have been *exactly* what she wanted, but a slight discrepancy in semantics wasn’t going to derail her enthusiasm. To her, this choice of perspective stood out in her mind as a huge life lesson.

Be rigid only if you want to break.

I am a planner by nature. I have lists for my lists. So when we were told to narrow down our Life List to just five items for 2013, I was all over that shit. I carry them with me everywhere.

house1WM

Yet only a mere 49 days into 2013, and I’m already finding that my top five goals for 2013 may need some tweaking. Not for any huge, earth-shattering reasons… simply for the reason that situations change. Circumstances shift.

One of the main goals I’m speaking of is the purchase of my first house. Some outside influences have swept into my life and are postponing the house hunt until my footing is steady again. This doesn’t mean it won’t happen for me this year. It just means my projected timeline of early Spring is pretty much out the window unless some miracles of miracles happen.

I can choose to kick and scream about it or I can go with it.

Duh. I know what I have to do, because you know what? The curveballs? They’re good for me. They’re making me grow.

The same way all the curveballs of 2011 brought me to Atlanta and into beginning this journey in the first place, these new plot twists are getting me out of my own comfort zone and testing the mindset of the “new me”.

A shift of plans does not equal failure. It doesn’t mean that I won’t reach my goals. It only means that I’ll get them completed a little differently than anticipated.Β  I know everything will work out for the best, however curvy my path may become.Β  And I also feel in my heart that these changes are what is best for me in the long run.

Good things are ahead. πŸ™‚

4 responses »

  1. *snaps* Blue Ribbon Attitude!!!

    Reply
  2. Yes, roll with it! You’ll get your house when the time is right πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. I feel like I’m constantly trying to catch up on your posts. This totally resonated with me because I have massive 40 before 40 list and some of the things I can already see probably won’t happen in the next three years unless things change. They are the long term kind of stuff that may not work out. On the one hand, I am feeling like a failure before I get started. But on the other (the one I’m trying to pay attention to), I feel like I’m the one who made the list, why *can’t* I change the plans? No one is making me do any of those things.

    Reply

Speak your Mind

