RSS Feed

Recipe Share: Chocolate Rolo Cookies

Posted on

I welcomed my Long Island BFF and her boyfriend to Atlanta this past weekend. Knowing it would be difficult to coordinate visiting all our friends in just a few short days, I figured the easiest solution would be a party at my place. Luckily, I’m not the type of hostess that freaks out. I just supply the food, the fridge space, some back-up booze, and open my front door to all. Drop in whenever, bring your booze and/or your kiddos, and get ready to be hugged. A lot.

And that’s exactly how it went!  At one point I caught three little boys laying on my bed with their feet crossed. They were propped on the pillows, facing my bedroom TV. Toy Story was on but one was engrossed with an iPad, another had the TV remote, and the other had an iPhone. Jeez, boys and their toys.  I snuck my phone from my back pocket and took a picture. I also got to bounce an 8 month old baby girl with the world’s biggest brown eyes on my hip. She pulled my hair and drooled on me. I didn’t care. All I knew was that my house was filled with noise and laughter and my oldest, dearest friends. My heart was full.

As for the food, I repeated the menu of my Charity:Water party: My famous chili, Buffalo Chicken Dip, Sausage Balls and guacamole + chips. But instead of Pumpkin Cake, I made chewy chocolate cookies stuffed with gooey, melty caramel.

Get ready to have your world rocked.

Chocolate Rolo Cookies

  1. 1 box of Devil’s Food Cake mix
  2. 1 stick of butter, melted
  3. 1 egg
  4. Rolos
  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Dump cake mix into a big bowl. Add the egg and melted butter.  Mix until it forms a thick dough.
  • Unwrap those Rolos. Because foil would suck to bite into.

mixWM

  • Take a small bit of the dough and flatten it into your palm. Then stick a Rolo on top of it and shape the dough around the Rolo until the candy is covered with dough.  Roll it around between your hands like you’re making a-spicy meat-a-ball-ah.
  • Place the choco-balls onto an ungreased baking sheet a good 2 inches apart.
  • Cook for 8-10 minutes, depending on your desired goo-factor.  I chose 10 minutes, because I made them pretty large. Go with less time for smaller cookies.
  • Try not to eat all of them before your guests arrive.

cookieWM

You’re welcome.

Chocolate Rolo Cookies don’t replace my favorite cookie of all time (the Snickerdoodle) but they come damn close!  What are your favorite holiday cookies? 

4 responses »

  1. I am making these cookies so help me god.

    Reply
  2. I’m guessing that’s not Paleo friendly 😉 I am wishing I never read this b/c I heart rolos so much.

    Reply

Speak your Mind

