RSS Feed

Hell On Wheels

Posted on

Yes, this entry is definitely categorized under Hot Mess.

There is a REASON we only roller skate as children. Or, it could just be me.  I suck at skating.  I also suck at rollerblading, ice skating, water skiing, skateboarding, snowboarding and snow skiing. So, pretty much anything that involves strapping my feet  –> which are attached to my stoopidlong legs –> which make up 75% of my stoopidtall body –> into some device that involves inertia-meets-gravity? Yeah, not having it.

skateWM

A little while ago my gym threw a social at a skating rink. Do me a favor and picture 20 grown men and women who do CrossFit. Now picture them on rollerskates.  Yep.  The same men who routinely kill it in the workouts that destroy me were now windmilling their arms and winding up on their asses. I tried and managed about 5 wobbly laps around the rink, but it was ugly.  I had to seriously focus on not being flattened by the little kids zipping around me, not staring too much at the teens who were humping the wall to the tune of the [explicit hip hop song] playing, and keeping an eye out for people suicidal enough to fall in my path. Did they not understand that STOPPING is not in my skillset?  Maybe I should have tried using one of the granny walkers (seen below). Safer, yes. Cool points? Maybe. I could make it sexy if I really tried.

grannywalker

But, I will say that aside from the ‘I’m either gonna break my neck or kill a kid’ moments, it was a LOT of fun.

And then this was said:

tweet

For the record, I did not say this.  I just wanted to be IN REAL SHOES and would have performed sexual favors to be rescued from this booty-rap death trap. What I did not count on was the way that the night would turn out.

I vaguely remember the following:

  • Sam Adams Winter Ale(s) – I lost count.
  • Learning a new dance called The Wobble.  Oh, you crazy twenty-somethings…
  • Flirting and being flirted with.
  • Playing board games at a different bar, while still drinking beer.
  • Telling my trainer friend that he really should shave his beard because he has such a good looking face. About 10 times.
  • Eating scrambled eggs, grits and a biscuit at 4am. #FAILEO
  • Falling asleep when the sun was coming up.

Oh man.  Most of the next day was spent on my couch recovering, thinking how much I’m too old for this shit. But even days later, I’m still smiling at how much fun it was.

Sometimes you’ve just gotta be a kid.

4 responses »

  1. I haven’t been skating in years! Sounds like you had a lot of fun!!

    My grandfather roller danced (“not that boring skating you kids do”) until he was in his 80s. He skated weekly through his chemo treatments and only stopped 2 months before he died. He probably would have loved cross fit in his day!

    Reply
  2. Oh, man! I haven’t had a night like that in ages! I wonder if I still could. Like physically could. Or if I’d just wind up throwing up all over the roller rink after beer #3 or falling asleep in my grits.

    Reply
  3. I feel too old for hangovers at the ripe old age of 30, but I do miss staying up until stupid hours being silly. Glad you had fun!

    Reply
  4. I played Roller Derby for years and still competely get what you are saying. Even as comfortable on skates as I was, When you have not had them on for a while, the first push off is the scariest! Its fun though!

    Reply

Speak your Mind

