RSS Feed

8 Week Challenge #4: My, how things change.

Good things about this week:

I didn’t eat as many sweets. But to be fair, I didn’t eat much at all. Because I was sick.

Bad things about this week:

I didn’t work out as much. Because I was sick.

I cannot lie… it’s not been an easy week for me.  And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

In an effort to stay positive I’ve decided that sometimes in our journeys, whatever they may be, it’s a good idea to pause, get out of your own head, and take a wider-lens look at where you’re standing right now.  We’re 4 weeks into Pish Posh’s 8 Week Challenge, so it makes sense to take stock.

My re-evaluation started when I woke up far too early today due to a headache from the beers I indulged in yesterday (yikes!). I stretched under the covers and immediately groaned in pain because my entire body is sore from yesterday’s workout.  Which led me to recall exactly what my “yesterday” was.

What did Peach’s Saturday look like?

8am: Woke up, ate a banana and 2T Coconut Butter and 1/2 a Paleo Waffle. Drank a 1/2 mug of coffee and 2 glasses of water. Drove to the gym.

9am: CrossFit

Warmup – 400m run, stretches.  10 sledgehammer blows on a tractor tire + Flip tire 10 times.

Yep. I said flip a tire. 10 times. BAD. ASSERY.

Partnered Workout – each pair must complete each 80 reps before moving onto the next exercise.

For Time:
80 Box Jump (20 in.)s
80 Push-ups (strict)
80 Back Squats 65 lbs
80 Kettlebell Swings (35lbs)
80 Push Presses 65 lbs
80 Walking Lunges
80 Deadlifts 65 lbs
80 Weighted Situps (10lb)

I had a rockin’ partner who is also a certified trainer! I was pleased that she pushed me… and that I kept up with her in both the reps and the weights.  We did everything 50-50!  FYI: My currently sore “parts”:  booty, abs, thighs, shoulders, triceps, forearms. Sweetbabyjesus.

10:30am – 3pm: went home, showered off the stink, cleaned the entire house top to bottom, ran to the grocery store for forgotten items, and cooked Peach’s Famous (non-Paleo) Chili Fritos, PaleOMG’s Smoky Bacon Chili, PaleOMG’s Pumpkin Granola, and Peach’s Sweet Potato Bacon Bites… all before kickoff. I wish I’d taken pics of the spread!!! Dammit! But here’s a pic of my counter, pre-cookoff.

3:30pm: A few friends began arriving to watch the UGA-Tennessee game on my big-ass TV.  Note to self: CrossFit men eat A LOT. Make more chili next time. But everything was a hit! During the game I had a small sampling of both chilis, one portion of the granola, 2 Sweet Potato Blondies that were made by a friend, and 2 Sweet Potato Bacon bites.  UGA won, GO DAWGS!

8:00pm – 11:00pm: My guests departed gradually, then I sat on my back porch and spent some time with a fellow CF chica. We bonded over beers and bitched about men. (it’s an age-old tradition…don’t hate, guys.) Total boozer count: 4 beers total for the day. Not great, but football, food, beer and friends? Couldn’t resist. I’ll be extra good with booze this coming week, I promise.

Conclusion:

If you’d told me a few months ago that I’d be flipping a freakin’ tire across a parking lot, or pushing a 65lb barbell over my head 40 times, or cooking anything remotely close to Paleo on a Saturday morning, I would have snorted in your face. But alas, here we are. And I kinda dig it.  Additionally, through CrossFit I’ve met some awesome people and made a ton more friends. It’s been difficult to expand my social crew since moving to Atlanta, but CF has been amazing in that regard. It felt great to invite them into my home and host a small gathering for them for the first time.

So, the big picture view tells me that I’ve come a loooooooong way and that it’s okay to have a crappy week and make not-so-great decisions (like face-eating that pint of Moose Tracks). That I’m human, and flawed, and will likely screw up again.

But I’m still okay. Things will be okay.  And next week will be better.

8 responses »

  1. I think you’ve done great! There has to be room to enjoy “treats” (this is why I’m not giving up wine entirely). 65 lb barbell 40 times? You’re a brute!

    Reply
  2. I had a rough week, too, although it wasn’t my diet and excercising. This week will be better for both of us! I am excited to make that pumpkin granola and the chili! Love the idea of putting it over sweet potatoes. I made a yummy pumpkin chili this week that I didn’t put on my blog because I was feeling too sorry for myself about not being able to write to remember 🙂 I’ll have to put it on there this coming week.

    It sounds like overall you did well…I mean, tires!! That actually sounds so fun. I need to stop saying I’ll check out Cross Fit and actually, really check it out.

    Reply
    • The pumpkin granola was a HUGE hit and a must-make-again, for sure! One note – buy pepitas (shelled pumpkin seeds) and not plain pumpkin seeds. Shelling pumpkin seeds takes for-EVER. The chili has great flavor and was also a hit (as in, GONE). I would love your pumpkin chili recipe, too! Yum! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Omg not only have you come a long way – you put my “long way” into perspective. I am going to work so much harder this week. I hope you are feeling better! 🙂

    Reply
  4. That’s some pretty amazing work. You’re certainly blowing me out of the water meeting your goals.

    Reply
  5. Wow! Sounds like a perfect day to me. Interesting workout strategy.

    Tell me more about the sledgehammer–is this a gym tool, or a real one?
    What an unusual exercise.

    Reply
    • see the pic of the tire? let it fall back on the ground, treads pointing out. Take a plain old, run of the mill sledgehammer. Swing it up, bring it down as hard as you can onto the side of it. Exactly how it sounds – hit a tire with a sledgehammer. Bizarre, but great shoulder workout. 🙂 All the guys laughed at my poor form, fyi.

      Reply
  6. You are pretty much kicking ass even if this week was a write off due to your sickness. I’m glad you got to visit with friends and bitch about men and have a drink or two – I think its good to take a day to relax every now and then!

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Reply

Speak your Mind

