RSS Feed

First Name Only [FNO]: Part 1

Posted on

If you can’t find the Intro to this post, you need to not be on the interwebs.  Sigh… fine. Scroll down one post or click here.

Up until now, FNO is a story that only my closest and most trusted friends have heard.  Be gentle.

That night was steamy and humid, and I remember cursing the natural wave in my (then blond) hair.  Typical.  I was going to be frizzy for my celebration.  You see, I had just made a life-changing decision – to fly South.  For good.   It was my last hurrah in the big bad Northeast with my girls.

We all met up after work on a Friday, pre-gamed with beers over takeout, and then changed into our paint-the-town outfits. When I reappeared in the living room, my girls cat-called me and asked me why I didn’t wear this outfit more often?!?!  I glanced down at my black halter top, gray skinny jeans and strappy leather 4″ stilettos… and shrugged.  It wasn’t my normal comfy jeans/t-shirt style.  It was just one of those nights where you know you could rock it.  I felt good.

Off we went to the corner bar – a tiny Irish pub complete with a bar table. One of my girls and I immediately beelined for and commandeered the table (yes, legitimately…we won it.) while the other girls got the first round.  When I was handed a pint glass full of RedBull and Grey Goose, that bitchy little inner voice screamed at me “HELLO, DO NOT DRINK THAT, ARE YOU INSANE?!?” Then I squished her from my mind and went back to kicking ass at pool.  One of those drinks later, I’m leaning down low over the table for a killer shot (still solid and steady in my stilettos) and I see in my peripheral a hand slap quarters down on the table less than a foot from my face. Hello, Pool Etiquette 101 – do. not. fuck. with. the. shooter.  I stood up quickly, eyes fiery and prepared to give this asshole a piece of my mind.

And…Whoa. In my direct line of sight was a very muscled display of pectorals under a tight black tshirt.  At 5’9′, I’m not accustomed to having to look UP to any man, but I did with him. Even in my 4″ heels!  I arrogantly lifted my chin and ….dammit… his face is gorgeous too.  But I was still spitting mad, so I just glared up at him and said with a toss of my head, “the board is over there. Put your name down.”.  He sneered down at me and said, “What?”.  I rolled my eyes and repeated, slower this time and oozing sarcasm, “The board. It’s over there. You have to sign up. To play.”.  Without a word he grabbed his quarters, turned on his heel and walked away.

But he watched me.  In all fairness, he kind of had to.  My partner and I were dominating every duo foolish enough to challenge us to a game. We kept winning, over and over. Drinks kept being brought to me….ohhhh, I forgot how GOOD RedBull/GreyGoose is…and we must have destroyed 7 or 8 other teams by that point. When suddenly, I see a guy I know dropping the balls to rack our next game.  We say hello and then I’m stunned when MuscleTee appears at his side, chalking up a cue and grinning obnoxiously at me. Oh SHIT. That’s his partner? GAME ON.

To be continued…

One response »

  1. Pingback: First Name Only [FNO] – Part Three « Fifty Shades of Peach

Speak your Mind

